The Rugby Championship chooses the top rugby-playing nation in the southern hemisphere each year. It is a round-robin competition between the top four nations in the southern hemisphere: New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, and Argentina.



Welcome to the definitive guide to betting on the Rugby Championship! The Rugby Championship chooses the top rugby-playing nation in the southern hemisphere each year. It is a round-robin competition between the top four nations in the southern hemisphere: New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, and Argentina. Originally known as the Tri Nations, the competition began in 1996 with three teams and was expanded to add Argentina in 2012.


The All Blacks enter this year’s Rugby Championship as defending champions aiming a fourth consecutive title. It is a significant date in the rugby betting calendar.

2019 Rugby Championship Preview


This Saturday, the Championship begins when the Springboks host the Wallabies in Johannesburg. The Pumas will play New Zealand in Buenos Aires on the same day.


In Round 2, on July 27, South Africa will travel to Wellington to face the All Blacks, while Australia will host Argentina in Brisbane. On August 10, ancient trans-Tasman rivals Australia and New Zealand will face off in Perth, while the Pumas and the Springboks will do battle in Salta, Argentina.


The All Blacks will enter the competition with confidence and bravado. They are the defending World Cup champions, they won the Rugby Championship last year, and this year the All Black-filled Crusaders won another Super Rugby championship.


The bookmakers correctly see New Zealand as clear favorites. The All Blacks are favored by a pair of leading online bookies at odds of 2-1. But disregard the other nations at your own peril.


Australia has excellent odds of 9/1, while South Africa’s odds of 5/1 are equally favorable. Argentina is the clear underdog, as the Pumas are listed at 18/1.

Rugby Championship Finishing Odds: Second


New Zealand is the world’s rugby superpower, having won the Tri-Nations and Rugby Championship a record 16 times in the past 23 years. This record is formidable and commands respect. So, the race for second place is fierce between the remaining three teams.


The odds of the Springboks and Wallabies securing the coveted place just below the All Blacks are tight. The South Africans are listed at 23/20 by Unibet and 888sport, while the Wallabies are listed at 5/2. If outside bets are more your style, then it’s worthwhile to consider Argentina’s improvement at 4/1.


How to Bet on the 2019 Rugby World Cup: Line and Handicap Betting This is a popular kind of wagering in rugby union, with either a particular point deficit or a specific point deficit. Hence, if a team beats the point spread and wins by at least two points, you are a winner. Or, if your team loses by a predetermined margin while employing your handicap, you are also in the black.


Team to First Score I In the 15-man code, it is enjoyable to wager on which team will score first, either a try or a penalty goal. Scores can frequently yo-yo and fluctuate like a basketball game. But, if you guess which side will score first, you have a 50/50 chance of earning money and favorable odds.


Half-Time Winner I Picking the side that is ahead on the scoreboard at halftime is an additional excellent and interesting strategy of wagering in rugby union, especially in The Rugby Championship. The scores can vary depending on form, injuries, and home field advantage. Yet, you may take advantage of favorable odds and profit large by picking the nation that leads after the first forty minutes.

History of the Rugby Championship


As the major rugby competition in the southern hemisphere, the Rugby Championship competes with Europe’s Six Nations for the title of greatest yearly rugby competition in the world. It is viewed by millions and features several of the world’s greatest players. With the exception of England’s solitary victory in 2003, the “big three” of New Zealand, Australia, and South Africa have won every World Cup since 1987, with the exception of England’s sole victory in 2003.


The customs and history of these three nations competing against one another date back more than a century. Australia and New Zealand initially clashed in 1903, while South Africa faced both nations for the first time in 1921. Over a century, the rivalry has intensified, resulting in the development of Super Rugby and the professionalization of the sport in 1995.


In rugby, Argentina has been a growing power over the past 15 years. The Pumas finished third in the 2007 and 2015 World Cups. Three years ago, their improvement and growth as a rugby nation were rewarded when they joined the Rugby Championship, turning it into a four-team competition.


While Argentina has not yet won the competition, they are a nation on the rise, and their club team, the Jaguares, recently achieved Super Rugby history by reaching the final for the first time. They are a formidable team with dynamic players like as Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, Emiliano Boffelli, Pablo Matera, and Marcos Kremer.


Between 1996 and 2011, a total of 16 Tri-Nations tournaments were held, with New Zealand winning ten, South Africa three, and Australia three. Argentina has participated in seven Rugby Championship competitions, with the All Blacks winning six and the Wallabies one. Both the Springboks and the Pumas have yet to claim victory.

Similar Gambling Guides


Welcome to Rugby Union Betting

Guide to Rugby World Cup Betting

Rugby Betting Strategies

Six Nations Gambling Manual